Google Earth

January 29, 2010 at 7:03 pm (Uncategorized)

Using Google Earth, I’ve looked at two cities, San Francisco and Detroit.  I wanted to see if what I saw on Google Earth was similar to my preconceptions of the cities.

a.    San Francisco was about what I expected to see.  The city had rolling hills that were fun to look at, although I imagine parking along those streets isn’t fun.  I was also able to find the Golden Gate Bridge and several of the cable car routes through the main city.

b.    Detroit had a beautiful skyline and the main city looked pretty nice, but as soon as I got out of the downtown area I began to notice the rundown parts of the city.  The slums looked pretty bad, as I predicted.  Some buildings were actually leaning on others for support.  I still don’t think I’d want to go there.

c.     I don’t think I learned anything new about the sites I viewed.  Google Earth can provide an accurate view of realistic building layouts, if that’s what you mean by reality.  The one thing it can’t provide is a view of the population and daily life in those cities.

d.    Google Earth could be used for finding potential build sites for contractors.  However, I don’t think it’s so revolutionary as to change society in a major way.

Leave a Reply

